UK-based defence analyst specialising in counter-terrorism and CBRNE (chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear weapons and explosives)

Associate Member: Institute of Explosives Engineers

Member: International Association of Bomb Technicians and Investigators (IABTI)


Twitter: @AOppenheimer235  Facebook:

Author of IRA – The Bombs and the Bullets: A History of Deadly Ingenuity published by Irish Academic Press in 2008 (now Merrion Press), which went into its fourth reprint in 2016

Copies are available from the publisher and on and

The book is a comprehensive account of more than 150 years of Irish republican strategic, tactical, and operational details, and an analysis of the IRA’s mission, doctrine, targeting, construction, deployment, and acquisition of weapons and explosives. A sample of reviews can be read in ‘Articles’ from the top right menu

Now available on KINDLE and the usual digital outlets at:

Editor-in-Chief of Chemical, Biological & Nuclear Warfare (CBNW), twice-yearly journal dealing with CBRNE threats, countermeasures, technologies, first response, training, and policies

Editor-in-Chief of  CBNW Xplosive, annual journal dealing with Improvised Explosive Devices (IEDs) threats and countermeasures

Message me your mailing address for free copies

Contributor to military and security journals including Military Technology, Military Periscope, Asian Military Review, Armada International, Safety & Security International, and the IB Consultancy CBRNe Portal, at

Presentations at conferences, workshops and professional seminars worldwide

Media appearances as an interviewed expert

Media consultancy for TV series and films including Silent Witness Series 22, Episodes on IRA & IED theme, January 2019

Trainer in the SMi Group Workshops on IEDs and Counter-IED, 2011-2014

Novelist First science-fiction novel Fields of Orion: An Odyssey now available on Amazon Kindle & Paperback

A distant message. A devastating legacy. The countdown has begun. An explosive thriller set in the near-future world of terrorism, espionage and first contact.

Artist: of surreal paintings. Including for donation to military charities, including Felix Fund The Bomb Disposal Charity, Veterans in Action, Help For Heroes.

Nine Lives: A Painting for Felix Fund.Nine Lives - A Painting for Felix Fund, the Bomb Disposal Charity

  • Like Felix the cat, bomb technicians have nine lives.
  • The fate of this bomb tech is unknown at this point.
  • He is both dead and alive at the same time.
  • He is Schrödinger’s Cat. He is on his ninth life. He is Felix.